What must I do if I suspect abuse or neglect of a child?
If a child is in immediate danger, call 911 or your local police first.
Then call the Texas Abuse Hotline to make a report.
The Texas Abuse Hotline is open 24/7/365
1.800.252.5400Report via the online reporting system for non-urgent situations only. A non-urgent situation means that intervention is not needed within 24 hours. Any suspicion of abuse or neglect must be reported within 48 hours. It is a Class A Misdemeanor to not report suspected abuse or neglect. It is a Class A Misdemeanor to falsely report abuse or neglect.
Child Abuse and Neglect Resources for Texas Schools
Detailed information on the responsibilities and the process for reporting suspected child abuse and neglect is accessible on the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) website. Resources include tools and information specifically designed for school personnel.· To Report Child Abuse and Neglect: http://www.txabusehotline.org/Login/Default.aspx· DFPS - A Guide for Reporting Abuse and Neglect for School Professionals:· DFPS has published a Threefold Brochure and Fact Sheet: A Guide for School Professionals to promote child abuse reporting information at school: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Training/Reporting/documents/Reporting_Guide_Brochure.pdf· DFPS – 1 pager about Reporting Abuse and Neglect: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/documents/Contact_Us/documents/swiflyer.pdf
· DFPS - Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child in Texas: Reporting Basics
· DFPS - Frequently Asked Questions about Reporting Abuse:
Training on Reporting:
· Aligned with the above materials, DFPS provides an online training “Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child” that includes video tutorials on mandatory reporting in the school setting. This web-based training tool and video module can be used to train school staff on how to make and file a report. A certificate of completion is available immediately after completing the training.o To begin the training go to: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Training/Reporting/default.asp
· The Texas Attorney General’s office, in cooperation with Texas CASA, has developed a resource guide.o Part 1: What is Child Abuse?http://www.oag.state.tx.us/ag_publications/txts/childabuse1.shtmlo Part 2: What Can We Do About Child Abuse? http://www.oag.state.tx.us/ag_publications/txts/childabuse2.shtmlo Resource Guide- https://www.oag.state.tx.us/AG_Publications/pdfs/child_abuse.pdf
· The Texas Health & Human Services Commission, Center for the Elimination of Disproportionality and Disparities has developed “A Guide for Mandatory Reporters – Achieving equity for Texas’ most vulnerable citizens” and an online training available. A certificate of completion is immediately available after completing the training.o Resource Guide and Online Training - http://cedd.learnpointlms.com
· Dallas Children’s Advocacy Center has an new online training on ‘Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse,’ available also in Spanish.o A certificate of completion is available after completing the training-http://dcac.trainingcampus.net/UAS/Modules/TREES/windex.aspx
· Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas, Inc. have centers throughout Texas. For more information on training opportunities and child abuse reporting information that may be available within your community visit http://www.cactx.org/ for the contact information of your local center.
· DFPS has regions throughout Texas. Contact your local regional DFPS office for more information on child abuse and neglect reporting and training opportunities that may be available.
o Visit http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/contact_us/map.asp for contact information.
Increasing Awareness and Prevention:
· Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas, Inc. has free brochures, banners, and information designed to increase awareness in Texas schools. On this site are posters for schools to post in school buildings. Also banners are available for local customization for child abuse prevention campaigns. See http://www.onewithcourage.org/take-action/for-educators/ for a list of available resources.
· DFPS – Preventing Child Abuse: http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/child_protection/
· Texas Association Against Sexual Assault has free brochures, facts sheets and information. See http://www.taasa.org/member/materials2.php for a list of available resources.
· Child Welfare Information Gateway: Preventing Child Abuse and Neglect (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) https://www.childwelfare.gov/preventing/
· Child Welfare Information Gateway: Promoting Healthy Families in Your Community ( A Resource Guide of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services): https://www.childwelfare.gov/pubs/res_packet_2008/
· Child Welfare Information Gateway: Sexual Abuse Prevention Programs (Tools, curricula, and programs designed to raise awareness and reduce risk factors related to child sexual abuse from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.childwelfare.gov/preventing/programs/types/sexualabuse.cfm
· Please visit TEA’s Prevention of Child Abuse Overview webpage that will be updated from time to time with new resources and training materials. http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=2820.
· Prevent Child Abuse America – A resource packet for child abuse prevention campaigns: http://www.preventchildabuse.org/publications/cap/index.shtml
· Texas Council On Family Violence: http://www.tcfv.org/
· Keep Kids Healthy – signs of child abuse: http://www.keepkidshealthy.com/welcome/commonproblems/child_abuse.html
· National Association to Prevent Sexual Abuse of Children
· Recognizing Child Abuse & Neglect – Signs and Symptoms
· The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Policy Service Model Student Handbook has information and resources on child abuse and maltreatment. TASB Policy Service includes child abuse and neglect reporting policies at TASB policy code FFG. Visit TASB– Freedom from Abuse, Discrimination, and Bullying for more information: http://www.tasb.org/services/legal/esource/students/stu_free_abuse_dis_bully.aspx
· The Children’s Advocacy Center of Texas has a model policy example for schools:
· Texas Family Code Chapter 261 - Investigation of Report of Child Abuse or Neglect: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.261.htm
· Texas Education Code §38.004 and TEC §38.0041 - Relating to Child Abuse Reporting and Training:
· Texas Administrative Code §61.1051 - Reporting on Child Abuse and Neglect: http://ritter.tea.state.tx.us/rules/tac/chapter061/ch61ee.html